Here you can see the new biobank building which is situated at the Campus Virchow Klinikum
New Biobank building

New Biobank building

You are here:

  • Home.

ZeBanC: Your partner in the field of biobanking

The Central Biomaterial Bank - short Biobank - is a joint core facility of the Charité and the Berlin Institute for Health (BIH). It collects, processes and stores various biomaterials such as tissue, blood, cerebrospinal fluid or their derivatives. The biomaterials can be linked to medical information and made available for research projects (internal and external) to improve the prevention, early detection, diagnosis and treatment of diseases.

Central biobank structures with high-quality biomaterials and associated medical information are of great importance for modern biomedical research. They are the guarantee that research results generated from these are reliable and reproducible. 

The ZeBanC (Central Biomaterial Bank of the Charité) represents such a modern research infrastructure.In order to meet the numerous tasks of a research service provider "Biobank", a modern biobank building was constructed at the Campus Virchow Klinikum (2016). Several million biospecimen can be stored at different temperatures and processed according to the latest standards. In addition to various services, the biobank's own IT enables data to be collected and - in the case of Charité patients - linked to medical information. Legal and ethical conditions apply. 

The processes of our biobank are carried out according to DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact the ZeBanC team at any time.

Hier sieht man den Neubau des Biobank-Gebäudes auf dem Gelände des Virchow Klinikums.
Neubau des Biobank-Gebäudes auf dem Gelände des Virchow Klinikums. Foto: Briesemeister/Charité

Sie befinden sich hier:

  • Startseite.

ZeBanC: Ihr Partner rund ums Biobanking

Die Zentrale Biomaterialbank - kurz Biobank - ist eine gemeinsame Core Facility der Charité und des Berliner Instituts für Gesundheitsforschung (BIG). Sie sammelt, verarbeitet und lagert verschiedenste Biomaterialien wie Gewebe, Blut, Liquor oder deren Derivate. Die Biomaterialien können mit medizinischen Informationen verknüpft und für Forschungsprojekte (intern und extern) zur Verbesserung der Prävention, Früherkennung, Diagnostik und Therapie von Erkrankungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Zentrale Biobankstrukturen mit hochwertigen Bioproben und assoziierten medizinischen Informationen haben für die moderne biomedizinische Forschung einen hohen Stellenwert. Sie sind der Garant für zuverlässige und reproduzierbare Forschungsergebnisse. Die ZeBanC (Zentrale Biomaterialbank der Charité) repräsentiert eine solche moderne Forschungsinfrastruktur.

Um den zahlreichen Aufgaben gerecht zu werden, wurde am Campus Virchow Klinikum ein modernes Biobankgebäude errichtet (2016). Hier können mehrere Millionen Bioproben bei verschiedenen Temperaturen gelagert und nach neusten Standards aufgearbeitet werden. Neben verschiedenen Dienstleistungen ermöglicht die Biobank-eigene IT Daten zu erfassen und – im Falle von Charité-Patienten – mit medizinischen Informationen zu verknüpfen. Dabei gelten entsprechende rechtliche und ethische Rahmenbedingungen.

Die Prozesse unserer Biobank werden nach DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 durchgeführt.

Für Fragen und Anregungen steht Ihnen das Team der ZeBanC jederzeit gern zur Verfügung.